PR Disaster

PR Disaster

image

I was recently called a f***ing a***. That isn’t the interesting part. Those who know me will know that isn’t all that unusual. What was interesting about it was that it was by a uniformed employee of a company, carrying out their company business while driving a fully sign written company vehicle. The bad news for him was that I videoed it on my phone.

Long story short; one of the pointless mutts that pollute our house escaped and was running round a parked up Thomas Ash Recovery truck. The driver had just finished loading a breakdown. The “Premier Recover operative” was sitting high up in his cab, looked down and started loudly shouting and swearing at the dog then at me when I ran to fetch her in.

His behaviour was so extreme, he would have been arrested on the spot. He was obviously having a really bad day or had an extreme fear of dogs etc.

As I would hope anyone would do with my team if they screwed up, I called his employers, Thomas Ash Recovery, and they were totally disinterested. This is where it gets interesting.

I shared the video I had taken on my personal Facebook page. He was still shouting at me and swearing but had calmed down a bit. I was just so annoyed at the companies lack of interest. It has been viewed over 1000 times, and still going; 1000 people who mostly live within 30 miles of his customer base.

My point is this (finally!) and it was a blinding flash of the obvious. How do I know my own install team aren’t like this? If no one phones or another member of staff takes the call, makes the right noises and doesn’t tell me, how do I know. No news is good news; right?

I do trust my team but a wee clarification with them is in order.

Do you trust yours? Based on what?

Comment: